Women Representation and Elections

This paper comes as a summary of the monitoring, conducted by Maharat Foundation, of the Media during the Electoral Campaigns from a Gender Perspective, especially the part related to women’s appearance in the media during Lebanon’s previous legislative and municipalities elections, through the different media platforms and outlets.

 

This paper presents ways to contemplate media and gender dynamics before and during the elections, especially in a society where women are still marginalized.

 

This paper will also cover activities the foundation carried out in line with the electoral coverage, especially the part related to media and electoral advertising, which constitutes an essential aspect of the electoral law and electoral education to ensure fair, transparent, inclusive and democratic elections.

 

This paper aims to interpret the findings and suggests recommendations to enhance women’s representation during the elections, through better media access, and raise citizen awareness regarding gender differences in elections, which can be used as guidance for the 2022 elections and beyond.

 

To check the policy paper in the English version:

Women Representation and Elections

 

To check the policy paper in the Arabic version:

Women Representation and Elections

المرأة والانتخابات في الإعلام اللّبناني

تأتي هذه الورقة كملخّص للرّصد الذي أجرته مؤسّسة مهارات لوسائل الإعلام خلال الحملات الانتخابيّة من منظور جندري، لا سيّما الجزء المتعلّق بظهور المرأة في وسائل الإعلام خلال الانتخابات التّشريعيّة والبلديّة السّابقة في لبنان، عبر المنابر الإعلاميّة المختلفة.

 

تنظر هذه الورقة في ديناميّات وسائل الإعلام والجندر قبل الانتخابات وأثناءها، لا سيّما في مجتمع لا تزال فيه النّساء مهمّشات.

 

تغطّي هذه الورقة أيضًا الأنشطة التي نفّذتها مؤسّسة مهارات بما يتماشى مع التّغطية الانتخابيّة، لا سيّما الجزء المتعلّق بالإعلام والإعلان الانتخابي، والذي يشكل جانبًا أساسيًّا من قانون الانتخابات والتّثقيف الانتخابي لضمان انتخابات نزيهة وشفّافة وشاملة وديمقراطيّة.

 

تهدف هذه الورقة إلى تفسير النّتائج وتقترح توصيات لتعزيز تمثيل المرأة خلال الانتخابات، من خلال الوصول إلى وسائل الإعلام بشكل أفضل، وزيادة وعي المواطنين بشأن الفروق الجندريّة في الانتخابات، والتي يمكن استخدامها كدليل لانتخابات العام 2022 وما بعدها.

 

للإطّلاع على ورقة السّياسات باللّغة العربيّة:

المرأة والانتخابات في الإعلام اللّبناني 

 

للإطّلاع على ورقة السّياسات باللّغة الإنكليزيّة:

المرأة والانتخابات في الإعلام اللّبناني