CSO Sustainability in Lebanon maintains its level in 2020

The overall sustainability of the CSO sector in Lebanon remained unchanged in 2020, leaving Lebanon at 3.9 since 2019, the highest-level index compared to the other 7 countries Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia and Yemen, despite a deterioration observed in most dimensions and aspects.

The legal environment governing civil society organizations has deteriorated this year, with the registration process for new civil society organizations becoming more complex. Political activists, in particular, have faced lengthy delays and even rejection when trying to register new organizations. As to the decline of freedom of expression and excessive use of force against protesters contributed to reducing civic space in the country.

CSOs also faced new challenges in the wake of the Beirut port explosion. The state of emergency imposed the day after the explosion gave the Lebanese army the authority to manage the response to the explosion. Therefore, civil society organizations had to obtain permission from the army for all interventions, and some recognized that state and military intervention hindered their work. Additional restrictions have also been imposed on all bank accounts, even for registered civil society organizations, as a result of strict extra-legal capital control measures and discretionary regulations governing the deposit and withdrawal of funds.

In terms of organizational capacity, it has fallen slightly in 2020 to 4.1. The economic crisis, the pandemic, the devaluation of the national currency, and several factors have adversely affected the capacity of CSOs in adhering to their strategic and organizational goals and maintaining their staff. The inability to implement activities and meetings on the ground has also negatively affected the efforts of some civil society organizations to engage effectively with their constituencies. At the same time, the technical progress of organizations has improved, with many successfully transforming their work online.

On the level of financial sustainability and with an index of 5.1, the viability of CSOs in 2020 declined due to deteriorating economic conditions and increased demand for assistance despite a significant increase in foreign aid. The banking crisis further aggravated the situation, and civil society organizations were unable to open or access their accounts, while competing with currency fluctuations and inflation. It has also had to change its financial procedures due to uncertainty in the banking sector and the successive economic and financial crises facing the country.

In another dimension, the advocacy of civil society organizations remained unchanged in 2020. Despite the inability of civil society organizations dealing with legislators and the growing gap between civil society, government officials, showed the sector increased solidarity successfully led a number of efforts of the important campaigns. Despite the challenges, civil society organizations have achieved some major successes, including the issuance of decrees to implement the access to information and the elimination of bank secrecy.

With an index of 3.3, the level of service provision increased slightly, with civil society organizations providing a wide range of services in response to the various health, economic and political crises facing the country.

Although communication and alliances between civil society organizations have increased, the overall infrastructure that supports this sector has deteriorated. While a number of training opportunities on topics such as report writing, fundraising, and financial procedures, compliance and policies, social media and digital services are offered to CSOs, but not all can have access to this training. And even some of them don't know how to determine his needs.

As for the public image of CSOs, it has not changed this year. However, despite improved public perceptions, CSOs remained the target of some defamation campaigns and access to the media became more difficult. In addition, the relations of CSOs with the government have been strained as a result of the increased visibility of organizations during crises, which often overshadowed the role of the government.

 

To read the full report:

2020 Civil Society Organization Sustainability Index for the MENA

+96176-971616 | +9611-871509

استدامة منظّمات المجتمع المدني في لبنان تحافظ على مستواها لعام ٢٠٢٠

ظلّت الاستدامة العامّة لقطاع منظّمات المجتمع المدني في لبنان دون تغيير في عام 2020، تاركةً لبنان على النّقطة 3.9 منذ العام 2019، المؤشّر الأعلى مستوى مقارنةً بالدّول السّبع الأخرى مصر والعراق والأردن وليبيا والمغرب وتونس واليمن، على الرّغم من تدهورٍ لوحِظَ في غالبيّة الأبعاد والنّواحي.

فتدهورت البيئة القانونيّة التي تحكم منظمّات المجتمع المدني لهذا العام، حيث أصبحت عمليّة التّسجيل لمنظّمات المجتمع المدني الجديدة أكثر تعقيدًا. فقد واجه النّشطاء السّياسيّين، على وجه الخصوص، التّأخير المطوّل وحتّى الرّفض عند محاولة تسجيل منظّمات جديدة. كما أنّ تراجع حريّة التّعبير والاستخدام المفرط للقوّة ضدّ المتظاهرين ساهم في تقلّص الحيّز المدنيّ في البلاد.

واجهت منظّمات المجتمع المدني أيضًا تحديات جديدة في أعقاب انفجار مرفأ بيروت. أعطت حالة الطوارئ التي فُرضت في اليوم التّالي للانفجار الجيش اللّبناني سلطة إدارة الاستجابة للانفجار. لذلك، كان على منظّمات المجتمع المدني الحصول على تصريح من الجيش لجميع التّدخلات، واعترفت بعضها بأن تدخل الدولة والجيش يعيق عملها. كما فُرضت قيود إضافيّة على جميع الحسابات المصرفيّة، حتّى بالنسبة لمنظّمات المجتمع المدني المسجلة، نتيجة التّدابير الصّارمة لمراقبة رأس المال خارج نطاق القانون و الاستنسابية التي تحكم إيداع الأموال وسحبها.

من ناحية القدرة التّنظيميّة، فقد انخفضت بشكل طفيف في عام 2020 لتصل إلى 4.1. فإنّ الأزمة الاقتصاديّة، الوباء، وانخفاض قيمة العملة الوطنيّة، وعوامل عدّة أثّرت سلبًا على قدرات منظّمات المجتمع المدني في الالتزام بأهدافها الاستراتيجيّة والتّنظيميّة والحفاظ على موظفيها. وإنّ عدم القدرة على تنفيذ الأنشطة والإجتماعات على أرض الواقع، انعكست أيضًا سلبًا على جهود بعض منظّمات المجتمع المدني للمشاركة بفعاليّة مع مجتمعاتها المحلية. وفي الوقت نفسه، تحسّن التّقدم التّقني للمنظّمات، مع نجاح العديد منها في تحويل عملها إلكترونيًّا.

على مستوى الاستدامة الماليّة ومع مؤشر 5.1، انخفضت صلاحيّة منظّمات المجتمع المدني في عام 2020 بسبب تدهور الظروف الاقتصاديّة وزيادة الطلب على المساعدة بالرّغم من زيادة المساعدات الخارجيّة بشكل ملحوظ. زادت الأزمة المصرفيّة من تفاقم الوضع، كما لم تتمكّن منظّمات المجتمع المدني من فتح حساباتها أو الوصول إليها، بينما كانت تتنافس مع تقلّبات العملة والتّضخم الحاصل. كما اضطرت إلى تغيير إجراءاتها الماليّة بسبب عدم اليقين في القطاع المصرفي والأزمات الاقتصاديّة والماليّة المتتالية التي تواجه البلاد.

في بُعدٍ آخر، ظلّت مناصرة منظّمات المجتمع المدني دون تغيير في عام 2020. وعلى الرّغم من عدم قدرة منظّمات المجتمع المدني على التّعامل مع المشرعين والفجوة المتزايدة بين المجتمع المدني والمسؤولين الحكوميّين، أظهر القطاع تضامنًا متزايدًا قاد بنجاحٍ عدد من جهود الحملات الهامّة. وعلى الرّغم من التّحديات، تمكّنت منظّمات المجتمع المدني من تحقيق بعض النّجاحات الكبيرة، بما في ذلك إصدار مراسيم تطبيقية لقانون الوصول إلى المعلومات والغاء السّريّة المصرفيّة.

ومع مؤشّر 3.3، ارتفع مستوى توفير الخدمات بشكل طفيف، حيث قدّمت منظّمات المجتمع المدني مجموعةً واسعةً من الخدمات استجابةً لمختلف الأزمات الصّحيّة والاقتصاديّة والسّياسيّة التي يواجهها البلد.

على الرّغم من زيادة التّواصل والتّحالفات بين منظّمات المجتمع المدني، تدهورت البنية التّحتيّة الشّاملة التي تدعم هذا القطاع. في حين يتمّ تقديم عدد من فرص التّدريب حول مواضيع مثل كتابة التّقارير، وجمع التّبرعات، والإجراءات الماليّة، والامتثال والسّياسات، ووسائل التّواصل الاجتماعي، والخدمات الرّقميّة بشكل متزايد، ولكن لا يمكن لجميعها الوصول إلى هذا التّدريب. وحتّى البعض منها لا يعرف كيفيّة تحديد احتياجاته.

وفيما يخصّ الصّورة العامّة لمنظّمات المجتمع المدني، فهي لم تتغيّر لهذا العام. ولكن بالرغم من تحسّن التّصوّرات العامّة، ظلّت منظّمات المجتمع المدني هدفًا لبعض حملات التّشهير وأصبح الوصول إلى وسائط الإعلام أكثر صعوبةً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، توتّرت علاقات منظّمات المجتمع المدني مع الحكومة نتيجة لزيادة دور المنظمات خلال الأزمات، والتي غالبًا ما طغت على دور الحكومة.

 

للإطّلاع على التّقرير الكامل باللّغة الإنكليزيّة:

مؤشّر استدامة منظّمات المجتمع المدني لمنطقة الشّرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا 2020

موقع مهارات نيوز